And… action!

Wow. Right. Yeah. Hello!

It’s very exciting to be starting on this journey. A journey that I’ve been wanting to undertake for years. Ever since 2007 in fact, when a toy re-entered my life and a tv series came into it for the first time. The toy was Lego. The tv series Doctor Who.

As a boy, I’d been a Lego enthusiast. But when my voice dropped, so did my interest in Lego. Obviously, girls were much more fascinating. Although I never quite got over that fascination, somehow, at 19, there was room in my heart again for the Danish construction toy. In a local toy store, I spotted a tiny little set. It contained two medieval guards and a skeleton warrior on a skeleton horse. Since I’m a total film nut, this particular set caught my fancy. Big time. The set reminded me of legendary animator Ray Harryhausen‘s skeleton warriors from Jason and the Argonauts. I couldn’t resist – this time, Lego was here to stay.

Earlier that year, an article in the tv guide grabbed my interest. It spoke of a cast member returning to the revived British series Doctor Who, 33 years after her first appearance. The repeat of the episode School Reunion on Dutch television got me hooked on Who.

Soon, I joined the ranks of many fans of the two – I got into recreating Doctor Who characters as Lego minifigures. Some of these figures turned out quite well, others hardly looked the part. But then, last year… A company called Character started producing proper, Lego-compatible Doctor Who sets. Huzzah! TARDIS doors and stickers! The sonic screwdriver! Daleks!

And here we are. Doctor Who and Lego (or construction toys in general) are about to be combined with another big passion: film. I’m about to starting filming my first stop-motion Doctor Who adventure, The Invincible Knight. But do you know what the funny thing is? Know what it took to actually get me started on this project?

A girl. A woman. My girlfriend Rebecca. She told me to get on with it. Just do it. So I’m doing it. She’ll be producing and helping with the animation process. I’ll be writing, directing and animating.

Join us. Watch this space. “Cos it is gonna be… fantastic!”

About Spielbrick Films

We create short stop-motion (fan) films. Of course, we don't make any money with this. We're just having fun!
This entry was posted in 1.1 The Invincible Knight, Doctor Who and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

